Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Multicultural and Multireligious Calendar - 2006
Selected Government Holidays of India and USA and Selected Spiritual Holidays of Hinduism, Christianity and Jainism.

January  	  	 
Sun.  01 Jan. 	 New Year's Day 	
Fri.  13 Jan. 	 Bhogi (TN)/Lohri (NI) 		 
Sat.  14 Jan. 	 Thai Pongal/Pongal Kolum(TN)/Makar Sankranti (AP)	 
Sun.  15 Jan. 	 Mattu Pongal(TN)/Thiruvalluvar Day (TN) 
Mon.  16 Jan.	 Kaanum Pongal (TN)/ Martin Luther King's Birthday (USA) 
Thurs.26 Jan. 	 Republic Day (India) 

February 	  	 
Thurs.02 Feb.	 Groundhog's Day (USA)
Thurs.02 Feb. 	 Basanta Panchami (NI) 	 
Sat.  11 Feb.	 Thai Poosam (TN)
Mon.  20 Feb. 	 George Washington's Birthday (USA)
Sat.  25 Feb. 	 Maha Shivaratri (AI)

March  	  	 	 
Tues. 14 Mar 	 Holi (NI)	
Fri.  17 Mar.	 St. Patrick's Day(USA)
Thurs.30 Mar. 	 Ugadi (AP,KN) /Hindi New Year	(NI) 

April	  	  	
Thurs.06 Apr. 	 Ram Navami (AI)
Tues. 11 Apr.	 Panguni Uthiram (TN)
Thurs.13 Apr. 	 Hanuman Jayanti 	 
Fri.  14 Apr.    Good Friday (Christian)	 
Fri.  14 Apr. 	 Tamil New Year (TN) 	 
Fri.  14 Apr. 	 Dr B.R. Ambedkar's birthday (India)
Sat.  15 Apr. 	 Vishu (KL) 	 
Sun.  16 Apr. 	 Easter (Christian)	 
Sun.  30 Apr.    Akshya Thirithya (Jain)

May 	  	 
Mon.  01 May     May Day (Labor day)  (India)
Sun.  14 May	 Mother's Day
Mon.  29 May	 Memorial Day (USA)
June
Sun.  18 June	 Father's Day	 	 

July
Tues. 04 July	 Independence Day (July 4, 1776) (USA) 	 
Mon.  24 July 	 Karkkadaka Vavu (KL) 	  

August
Fri.  04 Aug. 	 Varalakshmi Vratham (AP) 	 	 
Wed.  09 Aug. 	 Raksha Bandhan(Rakhi) (NI) 
Tue.  15 Aug. 	 Independence Day (August 15, 1947) (India)
Wed.  16 Aug. 	 Janmashtami/ Sri Krishna Jayanthi (AI)
Sun.  27 Aug. 	 Ganesh Chaturthi / Vinayaka Chaturthi (AI) 

September	  	 
Mon.  04 Sep.    Labor Day (USA)/First Onam (KL) 	 
Tues. 05 Sep. 	 Onam (Thiru Onam)(KL)
Wed.  06 Sep. 	 Third Onam (KL)	 
Fri.  23 Sep. 	 Navaratri (AI)/ Golu Festival (TN)

October  	
Sun.  01 Oct.    Saraswathi Puja (AI)
Mon.  02 Oct.    Vijaya Dashami/Ayudha Pooja/Dussehra (Maha Navami) (AI)
Mon.  02 Oct.    Gandhi Jayanthi (birthday) (India)
Mon.  09 Oct.	 Columbus Day (USA) 
Sat.  21 Oct. 	 Diwali (Deepawali) (AI)
Sun.  22 Oct.    Skanda Shasti(TN)

November
Fri.  10 Nov.	 Veteran's Day (USA)
Thurs.23 Nov.    Thanksgiving (USA)

December	  	  	 
Mon.  04 Dec.    Karthigai Deepam (TN)
Sun.  24 Dec. 	 Christmas Eve (Christian)
Mon.  25 Dec. 	 Christmas (Christian)


Abbreviations:
AI- All India | AP- Andhra Pradesh (State of India) | KL- Kerala (State of India) | KN- Karnataka (State of India) | NI- North India | TN- Tamil Nadu (State of India) | USA- United States of America
Notes: Depending on the solar/lunar positions, Hindu Holidays not only fall on different dates/days each year, but there can also be a discrepancy of one day before or after in the same calendar year depending on astrological calculations.
Sources.
http://www.neoncarrot.co.uk/h_aboutindia/festival_dates_2006.html
http://www.tn.gov.in/misc/holidays2006.htm
http://www.srividya.org/Srividya/Svtsweb/apps/templeCalendarMenu.php

This page has been visited times since it's inception January 2006. Page Created by Jennifer/Jayanthi.